Globe

the golden chalkboard in context

research and restoration project

One of the most valuable possessions of the renowned medieval collection of the Landesmuseum Hannover is a major work of the International Gothic around 1400, the so-called Goldene Tafel, the former high altarpiece of the Benedictine monastery church of St. Michaelis zu Lüneburg. The Landesmuseum keeps the two wing pairs of this large altarpiece and the surviving parts of the treasury from the former shrine. The latter are a permanent loan from the Museum August Kestner.

In addition to the monumental single scenes with the erection of the brazen serpent and the crucifixion of Christ, the wings show a broad cycle of images depicting scenes from the lives of Jesus and Mary. Richly gilded saint sculptures in elaborate tracery architecture complete the work.

The exhibition "The turn of the century 1400. The Golden Table as a European masterpiece ", which can be seen from the 27.9.2019 to the 23.2.2020 at the Landesmuseum Hannover, presents the Goldene Tafel in the context of its time.

The exhibition was preceded by a large-scale, interdisciplinary research project. With generous support, the retable from 2012 to 2016 has been extensively studied by historians, art historians and art technologists. It analyzed its unique history, the style and especially the construction and material nature of the double-convertible altar.

The object was restored from 2016 to 2019. In meticulous detail, 6 restorers gradually removed layers of dirt and browned coatings, removed old retouching and carefully closed the defects. The Landesmuseum placed great value on transparency: In an open workshop visitors could follow the progress of the work and inform themselves on public tours of the work of the restorers. In addition, a sponsorship model was developed, which gave private sponsors the opportunity to participate in one of the most extensive restoration measures in the German museum landscape. After about three years, the restoration was completed and the golden panel shines in new splendor.

Project Management: Dr. Antje-Fee Köllermann, Curator Old Masters (antje-fee.koellermann@landesmuseum-hannover.de)

Workshop management: Dipl.-Rest. Eliza Reichel

staff:

Dr. Gabriele Schwartz

Dipl.-Rest. Sophia Röllig

Dipl.-Rest. Ewa Kruppa

Dipl.-Rest. Kerstin Binzer

Sponsor of the research project
Sponsor of the restoration project

The restoration also involved by means of a sponsorship model private sponsors with generous support.

Globus

die goldene tafel im kontext

forschungs- und restaurierungsprojekt

Zum kostbarsten Besitz der renommierten Mittelaltersammlung des Landesmuseums Hannover zählt ein Hauptwerk der Internationalen Gotik um 1400, die sogenannte Goldene Tafel, das einstige Hochaltarretabel der Benediktinerklosterkirche St. Michaelis zu Lüneburg. Das Landesmuseum verwahrt die beiden Flügelpaare dieses großen Altaraufsatzes und die erhaltenen Teile des Kirchenschatzes aus dem einstigen Schrein. Letztere sind eine Dauerleihgabe des Museum August Kestner.

Neben den monumentalen Einzelszenen mit der Aufrichtung der ehernen Schlange und der Kreuzigung Christi zeigen die Flügel einen breit angelegten Bilderzyklus mit Szenen aus dem Leben Jesu und Mariens. Reich vergoldete Heiligenskulpturen in aufwendiger Maßwerkarchitektur ergänzen das Werk.

Die Ausstellung „Zeitenwende 1400. Die Goldene Tafel als europäisches Meisterwerk“, die vom 27.9.2019 bis zum 23.2.2020 im Landesmuseum Hannover zu sehen ist, präsentiert die Goldene Tafel im Kontext ihrer Zeit.

Der Ausstellung vorangegangen ist ein groß angelegtes, interdisziplinäres Forschungsprojekt. Mit großzügiger Unterstützung wurde das Retabel von 2012 bis 2016 von Historikern, Kunsthistorikern und Kunsttechnologen intensiv untersucht. Analysiert wurden dabei seine einzigartige Geschichte, der Stil sowie insbesondere die Konstruktion und die materielle Beschaffenheit des doppelt wandelbaren Altars.

Von 2016 bis 2019 wurde das Objekt restauriert. In minutiöser Kleinarbeit entfernten insgesamt 6 Restauratorinnen sukzessive Schmutzschichten und verbräunte Überzüge, nahmen alte Retuschen ab und schlossen die Fehlstellen sorgfältig. Das Landesmuseum legte dabei großen Wert auf Transparenz: In einer offenen Werkstatt konnten Besucher den Fortschritt der Arbeiten verfolgen und sich bei öffentlichen Führungen über die Arbeit der Restauratorinnen informieren. Zudem wurde ein Patenschaftsmodell entwickelt, das privaten Förderern die Möglichkeit gab, sich an einer der umfangreichsten Restaurierungsmaßnahmen in der deutschen Museumlandschaft zu beteiligen. Nach rund drei Jahren wurde die Restaurierung abgeschlossen und die Goldene Tafel erstrahlt in neuem Glanz.

Projektleitung: Dr. Antje-Fee Köllermann, Kuratorin Alte Meister (antje-fee.koellermann@landesmuseum-hannover.de)

Werkstattleitung: Dipl.-Rest. Eliza Reichel

Mitarbeiterinnen:

Dr. Gabriele Schwartz

Dipl.-Rest. Sophia Röllig

Dipl.-Rest. Ewa Kruppa

Dipl.-Rest. Kerstin Binzer

 

Förderer des Forschungsprojekts
Förderer des Restaurierungsprojekts

An der Restaurierung beteiligten sich auch mittels eines Patenschaftsmodells private Förderer mit großzügiger Unterstützung.