Globe
Welcome to the Landesmuseum Hannover The WeltenMuseum
learn more
opening hours

Tuesday to Sunday 10 - 18 clock
Further information and directions »

contact us

Willy-Brandt-Allee 5, 30169 Hannover
info@landesmuseum-hannover.de
Tel: (0511) 9807 - 686

current

News

Note

the "new masters" take a break more
News

Note

the "new masters" take a break

Dear visitors,

the historical glass roofs of the 1902 constructed museum building are renewed. The "new masters" therefore take a break. During the construction phase, reduced admission to the collections applies (not combinable with other discounts).

We look forward to your visit!

News

new opening hours

from October on more
News

new opening hours

from October on

Good news for those who want more from the museum: From October, we have new opening hours and Tuesday through Sunday from 10: 00 to 18: 00 open. Also on the day of the German Unity we look forward to your visit. Information about opening hours on other holidays you will find here.

News

the current quarterly program

our events from october to december more
News

the current quarterly program

our events from october to december

The new quarterly program for the months October to December 2019 is here. A varied program of guided tours, workshops, concerts and lectures awaits you. The booklet is freshly printed in the museum. Who wants to digitally leaf in, finds it here.

News

time turn 1400

the golden board as european masterpiece more
News

time turn 1400

the golden board as european masterpiece

In the first few decades of the 15. In the 19th century carpenters, woodcarvers and painters of international standing created a work of art of outstanding importance. The so-called Goldene Tafel, the high altarpiece of the Benedictine church of St. Michaelis in Lüneburg, was used to stage a valuable church treasure and is considered to be the most beautiful, which has been preserved from the time around 1420. For the first time since the dissolution of the complete work, the individual components are presented together again. The exhibition traces the reasons for the creation of the work of art, its exceptional, early-onset perception as a historical monument of supraregional importance and its outstanding artistic quality. With prominent loans from home and abroad, a rich panorama of the art is drawn to 1400, and after a comprehensive restoration, the Golden Table can now shine in new splendor. More

News

Decolonization requires dialogue, expertise and support

heidelberger statement
News

Decolonization requires dialogue, expertise and support

heidelberger statement

On the occasion of the annual conference 2019 of the Directors of the Ethnological Museums in the German-speaking area in Heidelberg, the following statement was adopted:

Decolonization requires dialogue, expertise and support - Heidelberger opinion

In German-speaking countries, more than twenty public ethnological and world cultural museums, university museums and collections as well as ethnological departments in multi-variety museums preserve a significant number of collections of cultural artefacts, photographs, film and sound documents, and written records. These collections are obtained in fiduciary due diligence. The objects were used to establish relationships between people who were and are significant to their descendants as well as to all societies for those who made them. These relationships are - similar to Diaspora connections - in the foreground of our attention.

[...]

News

deep sea

live in the dark more
News

deep sea

live in the dark

The deep sea is one of the most mysterious places on earth - still largely unexplored and thus the last big dark spot on our planet. This may be one of the reasons for the great fascination that the deep sea has
to the people. It attracts us with something words can not grasp - a distant world, in eternal darkness, inhospitable and yet full of life.

The exhibition »Deep Sea. Living in the Dark «at the Landesmuseum Hannover gives an insight into this unique world. It promises an interactive and multimedia underwater experience and close encounters with original deep-sea fish, which are among the most bizarre creatures our planet has to offer.

Partner of the exhibition is that GEOMAR Helmholtz Center for Ocean Research Kiel - One of the world's leading institutes for deep-sea research. The deep-sea is one of the most mysterious places on earth - still largely unexplored and thus the last big dark spot on our planet. This may be one of the reasons
for the great fascination that the deep sea exerts on people. It attracts us with something words can not grasp - a distant world, in eternal darkness, inhospitable and yet full of life.

up to date?

subscribe to the newsletter

Globus
Willkommen im Landesmuseum Hannover Das WeltenMuseum
mehr erfahren
öffnungszeiten

Dienstag bis Freitag 10 – 17 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag 10 – 18 Uhr
Weitere Infos und Anfahrt »

kontakt

Willy-Brandt-Allee 5, 30169 Hannover
info@landesmuseum-hannover.de
Tel: (0511) 9807 – 686

aktuelles

Aktuelles

zeitenwende 1400

die goldene tafel als europäisches meisterwerk mehr
Aktuelles

zeitenwende 1400

die goldene tafel als europäisches meisterwerk

In den ersten Jahrzehnten des 15. Jahrhunderts schufen Schreiner, Bildschnitzer und Maler von internationalem Rang ein Kunstwerk von herausragender Bedeutung. Die sogenannte Goldene Tafel, der Hochaltaraufsatz der Benediktinerkirche St. Michaelis in Lüneburg, diente der Inszenierung eines wertvollen Kirchenschatzes und zählt zum Schönsten, was sich aus der Zeit um 1420 erhalten hat. Erstmals seit der Auflösung des Gesamtwerks werden die einzelnen Bestandteile wieder gemeinsam präsentiert. Die Ausstellung spürt den Gründen für die Entstehung des Kunstwerks, seiner exzeptionellen, früh einsetzenden Wahrnehmung als Geschichtsmonument von überregionaler Bedeutung und seiner herausragenden künstlerischen Qualität nach. Mit prominenten Leihgaben aus dem In- und Ausland wird ein reiches Panorama der Kunst um 1400 gezeichnet, und nach einer umfassenden Restaurierung kann die Goldene Tafel nun in neuem Glanz erstrahlen. Mehr

Aktuelles

das aktuelle quartalsprogramm

unsere veranstaltungen von juli bis september mehr
Aktuelles

das aktuelle quartalsprogramm

unsere veranstaltungen von juli bis september

Das neue Quartalsprogramm für die Monate Juli bis September 2019 ist da. Ein vielfältiges Programm aus Führungen, Workshops, Konzerten und Vorträgen erwartet Sie. Das Heft liegt frisch gedruckt im Museum aus. Wer digital reinblättern möchte, findet es hier.

Aktuelles

dekolonisierung erfordert dialog, expertise und unterstützung

heidelberger stellungnahme
Aktuelles

dekolonisierung erfordert dialog, expertise und unterstützung

heidelberger stellungnahme

Anlässlich der Jahreskonferenz 2019 der Direktor/innen der Ethnologischen Museen im deutschsprachigen Raum in Heidelberg wurde die folgende Stellungnahme verabschiedet:

Dekolonisierung erfordert Dialog, Expertise und Unterstützung – Heidelberger Stellungnahme

Im deutschsprachigen Raum bewahren mehr als zwanzig öffentliche ethnologische und Weltkulturen-Museen, Universitätsmuseen und -sammlungen sowie ethnologische Abteilungen in Mehrspartenmuseen eine bedeutende Anzahl an Sammlungen mit kulturellen Artefakten, Fotografien, Film- und Tondokumenten sowie Schriftarchiven. Diese Sammlungen erhalten wir in treuhänderischer Sorgfaltspflicht. Über die Objekte wurden Beziehungen zwischen Menschen angelegt, die für jene, die sie einst herstellten, für ihre Nachfahr/innen wie auch insgesamt für alle Gesellschaften bedeutsam waren und bis heute sind. Diese Beziehungen stehen – ähnlich Diaspora-Verbindungen – im Vordergrund unserer Aufmerksamkeit.

[…]

Aktuelles

paula, liebermann, corinth + co

die »neuen meister« legen eine pause ein mehr
Aktuelles

paula, liebermann, corinth + co

die »neuen meister« legen eine pause ein

Der repräsentative Museumbau wurde 1902 am Rande des Maschparks im Stil der Neorenaissance von Architekt Hubert Stier errichtet. Um Licht und Klima für Sie und die Kunstwerke zu optimieren, erneuern wir die historischen Glasdächer. Der erste Bauabschnitt wird jetzt vorbereitet. Die Erneuerung der Glasdächer im Bereich der »Neuen Meister« wird voraussichtlich bis August 2020 dauern.

Aktuelles

tiefsee

leben im dunkeln mehr
Aktuelles

tiefsee

leben im dunkeln

Die Tiefsee ist einer der geheimnisvollsten Orte der Erde – noch weitgehend unerforscht und damit der letzte große dunkle Fleck auf unserem Planeten. Dies mag einer der Gründe für die große Faszination sein, die die Tiefsee
auf die Menschen ausübt. Sie zieht uns an mit Etwas, das Worte nicht fassen können – eine ferne Welt, in ewiger Dunkelheit, unwirtlich und doch voller Leben.

Die Ausstellung »Tiefsee. Leben im Dunkeln« im Landesmuseum Hannover gibt einen Einblick in diese einzigartige Welt. Sie verspricht ein interaktives und multimediales Unterwassererlebnis und die hautnahe Begegnung mit originalen Tiefseefischen, die zu den wohl bizarrsten Geschöpfen zählen, die unser Planet zu bieten hat.

Partner der Ausstellung ist das GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel – eines der weltweit führenden Institute im Bereich der Tiefseeforschung.Die Tiefsee ist einer der geheimnisvollsten Orte der Erde – noch weitgehend unerforscht und damit der letzte große dunkle Fleck auf unserem Planeten. Dies mag einer der Gründe
für die große Faszination sein, die die Tiefsee auf die Menschen ausübt. Sie zieht uns an mit Etwas, das Worte nicht fassen können – eine ferne Welt, in ewiger Dunkelheit, unwirtlich und doch voller Leben.

up to date?

zum newsletter anmelden