Globe

between fantasy and research

25.9.2020 14.2.2021 to

Dinosaurs have been extinct for millions of years - and yet ubiquitous in today's popular culture. Since the beginning of moving images, cinema and television have left the primeval monsters again and again
resurrected. The stars from Jurassic Park, King Kong or the Feuerstein family have therefore strongly shaped our ideas of dinosaurs. But how did these pictures actually come about? Do you reflect the current state of research? And how have they changed over time?

The exhibition answers these questions with a unique interdisciplinary approach along film history. A combination of film sequences, animation techniques, models, paleo-art and fossils shows that different factors always play a role in the creation of the »KinoSaurier«: the technical possibilities of contemporary special effects, the current state of research with its image of the dinosaur at the time - and mostly a little imagination.

Buildings
approach

Underground: Aegidientorplatz
Bus: Rathaus / Bleichenstraße lines 100 and 200
Rathaus / Friedrichswall line 120
Parking in the surrounding streets

opening hours

Tuesday to Sunday 10 - 18 clock
closed on Mondays

Ticket prices

10 € | reduced 8 € | Families 20 €
including collections

Funded by

In co-operation with

Globus

zwischen fantasie und forschung

25.9.2020 bis 14.2.2021

Dinosaurier sind seit Millionen von Jahren ausgestorben – und in der heutigen Populärkultur doch allgegenwärtig. Seit den Anfängen des Bewegtbildes lassen Kino und Fernsehen die Urzeitmonster immer wieder
auferstehen. Die Stars aus Jurassic Park, King Kong oder Familie Feuerstein haben deshalb unsere Vorstellungen von Dinosauriern stark geprägt. Aber wie sind diese Bilder eigentlich entstanden? Entsprechen Sie dem Stand der Forschung? Und wie haben sie sich im Laufe der Zeit verändert?

Die Ausstellung beantwortet diese Fragen mit einem einmaligen interdisziplinären Ansatz entlang der Filmgeschichte. Eine Kombination aus Filmsequenzen, Tricktechnik, Modellen, Paläo-Kunst und Fossilien zeigt, dass bei der Entstehung der »KinoSaurier« immer unterschiedliche Faktoren mitspielen: die technischen Möglichkeiten der zeitgenössischen Spezialeffekte, der zum jeweiligen Zeitpunkt aktuelle Stand der Forschung mit seinem Bild vom Dino – und meist auch ein wenig Fantasie.

 

Gebäude
anfahrt

U-Bahn: Aegidientorplatz
Bus: Rathaus / Bleichenstraße Linien 100 und 200
Rathaus / Friedrichswall Linie 120
Parkmöglichkeiten in den umliegenden Straßen

öffnungszeiten

Dienstag bis Sonntag 10 – 18 Uhr
Montag geschlossen

eintrittspreise

10 € | ermäßigt 8 € | Familien 20 €
inklusive Sammlungen

Gefördert durch