Globe

current research projects

In addition to collecting, preserving and mediating, research is also a central task of the Landesmuseum Hannover. The interdisciplinary research creates a scientific basis for exhibitions from the extensive collections in the fields of natural history, ethnology, archeology and art. In the context of lectures, courses, publications and educational offers, the knowledge is made publicly accessible. Through conservation and restoration, the cultural heritage, which includes extremely fragile exhibits, can be presented in exhibitions. The objects are protected against decay and preserved for future generations.

The most valuable possession of the renowned medieval collection of the Landesmuseum Hannover includes a major work of the International Gothic around 1400, the so-called Goldene Tafel, the former high altarpiece of the Benedictine Monastery Church of St. Michaelis zu Lüneburg. The Landesmuseum preserves the two wing pairs of this large altarpiece, the surviving parts of the treasury from the former shrine can be found today in the Museum August Kestner.

To the project

After several years of preliminary work, the time has finally come: Thanks to a grant from the Volkswagen Foundation, the non-European collections in Lower Saxony can now be extensively researched. Under the aegis of the Hanover State Museum, the company's own holdings and ethnographic collections in Göttingen (Georg August University), Oldenburg (Landesmuseum Natur und Mensch), Hildesheim (Roemer and Pelizaeus Museum) and Braunschweig (Städtisches Museum) under the magnifying glass. The collaborative research project "Provenance Research in Non-European Collections and Ethnology in Lower Saxony" examines the genesis of these collections in the colonial period and thus opens up a largely untreated area in German-speaking countries. Based on objects from academic and museum anthropological collections of high scientific and cultural - historical relevance in Lower Saxony, the question will be investigated, how ethnographica in the colonial period as well as in the decades immediately before and after that under which legal, social, political, economic and scientific political conditions Ways to Europe found. It is also necessary to ask what impact these objects had on Europe - whether they contributed to the legitimization of colonial rule, spread ethnological or art historical knowledge, were primarily of economic importance, or served for example in "people's shows" of entertainment.

To the project

Provenance research is a historical subdiscipline dedicated to the study of the origin (provenance) of art, cultural and archival goods and is used in the field of art history, among other things for the authenticity of works of art. In this classical sense provenance searches were also always at the Landesmuseum (formerly Provinzialmuseum), z. B. for the scientific processing and publication of its own collection holdings, carried out.

In recent years, issues of museum ethics have become increasingly important on a national and international level. Nations, populations and individuals, as well as individuals, are increasingly claiming the return of cultural or natural heritage lost through persecution-induced withdrawal, robbery or capture in wars or armed conflicts, colonization or trafficking.

More on this

With its diverse tomb buildings made of mud bricks and local shell limestone, the cemetery on the edge of the desert provides a unique view of a burial culture between the Orient and the Occident. Already the first graves to be built around 300 v. The influence of the new Greek rulers on the Nile is apparent. After the conquest of Egypt by Alexander d. Gr. and the founding of the new capital Alexandria, the cultural identity also changed in the 500 km southern Nile valley. Another cut came at the turn of the century, when the Romans took possession of the land.

To the project

Globus

aktuelle forschungsprojekte

Neben dem Sammeln, Bewahren und Vermitteln ist auch das Forschen eine zentrale Aufgabe des Landesmuseums Hannover. Durch die interdisziplinäre Forschung wird aus den umfangreichen Sammlungen in den Bereichen Naturkunde, Ethnologie, Archäologie und Kunst eine wissenschaftliche Grundlage für Ausstellungen geschaffen. Im Rahmen von Vorträgen, Kursen, Publikationen und museumspädagogischen Angeboten wird das Wissen öffentlich zugänglich gemacht. Durch Konservierung und Restaurierung kann das kulturelle Erbe, unter dem sich äußerst fragile Exponate befinden, in Ausstellungen präsentiert werden. Die Objekte werden vor dem Verfall geschützt und für kommende Generationen bewahrt.

Zum kostbarsten Besitz der renommierten Mittelaltersammlung des Landesmuseums Hannover zählt ein Hauptwerk der Internationalen Gotik um 1400, die sogenannte Goldene Tafel, das einstige Hochaltarretabel der Benediktinerklosterkirche St. Michaelis zu Lüneburg. Das Landesmuseum bewahrt die beiden Flügelpaare dieses großen Altaraufsatzes, die erhaltenen Teile des Kirchenschatzes aus dem einstigen Schrein finden sich heute im Museum August Kestner.

Zum Projekt

 

Nach mehrjähriger Vorarbeit ist es endlich soweit: Dank einer Förderung durch die VolkswagenStiftung können nun die außereuropäischen Sammlungen Niedersachsens umfassend erforscht werden. Unter der Ägide des Landesmuseums Hannover werden in den nächsten drei Jahren die eigenen Bestände sowie die ethnografischen Sammlungen in Göttingen (Georg-August-Universität), Oldenburg (Landesmuseum Natur und Mensch), Hildesheim (Roemer- und Pelizaeus-Museum) und Braunschweig (Städtisches Museum) unter die Lupe genommen. Das Verbundforschungsprojekt »Provenienzforschung in außereuropäischen Sammlungen und der Ethnologie in Niedersachsen« untersucht die Genese dieser Sammlungen in der Kolonialzeit und erschließt damit ein im deutschsprachigen Raum noch weitgehend unbearbeitetes Gebiet. Ausgehend von Objekten aus akademischen und musealen ethnologischen Sammlungen von hoher wissenschaftlicher und kulturhistorischer Relevanz in Niedersachsen soll der Frage nachgegangen werden, wie Ethnographica in der Kolonialzeit sowie in den Jahrzehnten unmittelbar davor und danach im Rahmen welcher rechtlicher, sozialer, politischer, wirtschaftlicher und wissenschaftspolitischer Bedingungen ihre Wege nach Europa fanden. Ebenso ist zu fragen, welche Wirkung diese Objekte in Europa entfalteten – sei es, dass sie zur Legitimation kolonialer Herrschaft beitrugen, ethnologisches oder auch kunstgeschichtliches Wissen verbreiteten, primär von ökonomischer Bedeutung waren oder etwa in »Völkerschauen« der Unterhaltung dienten.

Zum Projekt

Provenienzforschung ist eine historische Teildisziplin, die sich der Erforschung der Herkunft (Provenienz) von Kunst-, Kultur- und Archivgütern widmet und im Bereich der Kunstgeschichte u.a. zur Echtheitsbestätigung von Kunstwerken herangezogen wird. In diesem klassischen Sinn wurden Provenienzrecherchen auch stets am Landesmuseum (früher: Provinzialmuseum), z. B. für die wissenschaftliche Bearbeitung und Veröffentlichung der eigenen Sammlungsbestände, durchgeführt.

In den vergangenen Jahren haben Fragen der Museumsethik auf nationaler und internationaler Ebene stetig an Bedeutung gewonnen. Nationen, Bevölkerungs- und Personengruppen sowie Einzelpersonen erheben verstärkt Anspruch auf die Rückgabe von Kultur- oder Naturerbe, das sie durch verfolgungsbedingten Entzug, durch Raub oder Beutenahme in Kriegen oder bewaffneten Konflikten, durch Folgen der Kolonisation oder durch illegalen Handel verloren haben.

Mehr dazu

Mit seinen vielfältigen Grabbauten aus Lehmziegeln und lokalem Muschelkalkstein liefert der Friedhof am Rand der Wüste einen einmaligen Blick auf eine Bestattungskultur zwischen Orient und Okzident. Schon die ersten Gräber, die um 300 v. Chr. entstanden, zeigen den Einfluß der neuen griechischen Herrscher am Nil. Nach der Eroberung Ägyptens durch Alexander d. Gr. und der Gründung der neuen Hauptstadt Alexandria veränderte sich die kulturelle Identität auch im 500 km südlich gelegenen Niltal. Ein weiterer Einschnitt erfolgte um die Zeitenwende, als die Römer das Land in Besitz nahmen.

Zum Projekt