Globe

scientific development of the copper engraving cabinet

With its 20.000 hand drawings and print graphics, the graphic collection in the Landesmuseum Hannover provides an excellent insight into the manifold events of European art history from the late Middle Ages to the early 20. Century.

Hundreds of Dürer's works, as his famous Hieronymus in the case, numerous Italian drawings, including a sketch sheet from the circle of Leonardo da Vinci, hundreds of works Rembrandt, the epochal Caprichos of Francisco de Goya, a landscape Camille Pissarro and hundreds of drawings and graphics by Max Liebermann, Max Slevogts and Lovis Corinths are examples of the artistic richness of our Kupferstichkabinett.

In order to make this treasure more accessible to science and the visitor, we are currently working on the digital development of our entire graphic inventory. Each sheet is taken individually from its archive box, recorded statistically, examined conservatively and digitally photographed. At the same time, the data of the old manuscript inventory cards will be recreated in digital form. In a second step, the information about the plant and its image are merged into a database. On the basis thus created, the final art historical appreciation of the works of art takes place in a catalog as well as their conservatory support.

In small temporary exhibitions, we present selected sheets, and on request, the visitors to the otherwise carefully stored in cabinets works are presented to study and enjoyment. The described conservation and art historical development and a rearrangement of the leaves will allow the visitor of the Kupferstichkabinett to browse through his collections of artists, artistic landscapes and epochs.

research project on the collection wallmoden

The Hanoverian art collection of the imperial count and illegitimate son of King George II, Johann Ludwig Wallmoden-Gimborn (1736-1811), counted until its dissolution in an auction in the year 1818 to the most important in northern Germany. In the context of the big Niedersächsische Landesausstellung of the 17. May until the 5. October 2014 led the Landesmuseum Hannover around 200 years after their dispersion across Europe and North America for the first time parts of the Wallmoden Gallery back together in Hannover. It provided a fascinating insight into the feudal collection system of the late Ancien Régime, at the epochal threshold for the construction of bourgeois Hanoverian collections by Bernhard Hausmann or August and Hermann Kestner, and thus relates to a key moment in Lower Saxony's art and cultural history. At the same time, the Wallmoden-Galerie does not only point far beyond Germany due to its auction-related dispersion. Wallmoden, who militarily participated in the - initially futile - defense of the campaigns of Napoleon's revolutionary army, was advised in his 1760er in the purchase decisions of John Joachim Winckelmann (1717 -1768), the 1763 of Pope Clement XIII. appointed superintendent of antiquities in Rome.

research project KENOM

Cooperative collection of numismatic object data in coin collections

KENOM is about the joint development of an infrastructure for a "Virtual Coin Cabinet" - covering countries and types of collections. The four pillars of the web-based and illustrated database to be developed are collection modules for coins, medals, paper money and found coins. Various partners from Schleswig-Holstein, Lower Saxony, Thuringia and Saxony-Anhalt cooperate to enter and prepare the test data for different subject areas from antiquity, the Middle Ages, modern times, medal science, paper money history and fundnumismatics: the University Coin Cabinet Göttingen in the Archaeological Institute, the Fundmünzenarchiv Thuringian State Archeology in Weimar, the former Royal Coin Cabinet in the Landesmuseum Hannover, the State Coin Cabinet Saxony-Anhalt of the Moritzburg Foundation in Halle / Saale and the paper money collection of the Schleswig-Holstein State Library in Kiel. Various previous experiences of cooperation partners including the Münzkabinett in Hanover, the Gitta Kastner Foundation in the Numismatic Commission of Lands in the Federal Republic of Germany, the catalog of the Numismatic Commission and the network headquarters of the Göttingen Library Network with the networking of libraries and other cultural institutions (eg Portal Heritage Lower Saxony). Another partner in the development is the Programmfabrik Berlin with an application of the easydb software.

The goal of the DFG project KENOM is to significantly increase the digital presence of scientifically processed coin collections and to enable the development of numerous other collections permanently by providing appropriate tools. The broad cross-border networking of collections in Schleswig-Holstein, Lower Saxony and Thuringia as well as the integration of different types of collections will ensure a broad spectrum of reusability. In the project, an infrastructure will be developed and a continuous workflow will be defined, which will allow even small institutions without trained numismatists with reasonable effort to provide online inventory information on the newly developed platform. Upon completion, the project should allow convenient access via a 'Virtual Coin Cabinet' to the magazine holdings that were previously only available to selected specialists. Independently of this, a contribution to the digitization of large volumes of material will be made in order to increase the presence of the German collections both nationally - among others in the upcoming German Digital Library - and internationally - in the Europeana. (Common Library Network)

wissenschaftliche erschließung des kupferstichkabinetts

Die graphische Sammlung im Landesmuseum Hannover gewährt mit ihren über 20.000 Handzeichnungen und Druckgraphiken einen exzellenten Einblick in das vielfältige Geschehen der europäischen Kunstgeschichte vom späten Mittelalter bis in das frühe 20. Jahrhundert.

Hunderte Werke Dürers, so sein berühmter Hieronymus im Gehäuse, zahlreiche italienische Handzeichnungen, darunter ein Skizzenblatt aus dem Umkreis Leonardo da Vincis, hunderte Werke Rembrandts, die epochalen Caprichos des Francisco de Goya, eine Landschaft Camille Pissarros sowie hunderte Zeichnungen und Graphiken Max Liebermanns, Max Slevogts und Lovis Corinths stehen hier beispielhaft für den künstlerischen Reichtum unseres Kupferstichkabinetts.

Um diesen Schatz für die Wissenschaft und den Besucher leichter zugänglich zu machen, arbeiten wir derzeit an der digitalen Erschließung unseres gesamten graphischen Bestandes. Dazu wird jedes Blatt einzeln aus seiner Archivbox entnommen, statistisch erfasst, konservatorisch begutachtet und digital photographiert. Parallel dazu werden die Daten der alten handschriftlichen Inventarkarten in digitaler Form neu erstellt. In einem zweiten Schritt werden die Informationen zum Werk und seine Abbildung in einer Datenbank zusammengeführt. Auf der so geschaffenen Grundlage erfolgt die abschließende kunstgeschichtliche Würdigung der Kunstwerke in einem Katalog sowie deren konservatorische Betreuung.

In kleinen Wechselausstellungen präsentieren wir ausgewählte Blätter, und auf Wunsch werden dem Besucher die sonst sorgfältig in Schränken aufbewahrten Werke zu Studium und Genuss vorgelegt. Die beschriebene konservatorische und kunsthistorische Erschließung und eine Neuordnung der Blätter erlauben es künftig dem Besucher des Kupferstichkabinetts, seine nach Künstlern, Kunstlandschaften und Epochen geordneten Bestände mit Muße zu durchdringen.

forschungsprojekt zur sammlung wallmoden

Die Hannoveraner Kunstsammlung des Reichsgrafen und illegitimen Sohns König Georgs II., Johann Ludwig Wallmoden-Gimborn (1736-1811), zählte bis zu ihrer Auflösung in einer Auktion im Jahre 1818 zu den bedeutendsten in Norddeutschland. Im Rahmen der großen Niedersächsischen Landesausstellung vom 17. Mai bis zum 5. Oktober 2014 führte das Landesmuseum Hannover rund 200 Jahre nach ihrer Zerstreuung über ganz Europa und Nordamerika erstmals Teile der Wallmoden-Galerie wieder in Hannover zusammen. Sie gewährte einen faszinierenden Einblick in das feudale Sammlungswesen des späten Ancien Régime, an der Epochenschwelle zum Aufbau bürgerlicher Hannoveraner Sammlungen von Bernhard Hausmann oder August und Hermann Kestner, und betrifft somit einen Schlüsselmoment der niedersächsischen Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte. Zugleich weist die Wallmoden-Galerie nicht erst durch ihre auktionsbedingte Zerstreuung weit über Deutschland hinaus. Wallmoden, der sich militärisch an der – zunächst vergeblichen – Abwehr der Feldzüge von Napoleons Revolutionsarmee beteiligte, wurde bei seinen in den 1760er Jahren gefällten Kaufentscheidungen von Johann Joachim Winckelmann (1717-1768) beraten, der 1763 von Papst Clemens XIII. zum Oberaufseher für die Altertümer in Rom ernannt worden war.

forschungsprojekt KENOM

kooperative erfassung numismatischer objektdaten in münzsammlungen

Bei KENOM geht es um die gemeinsame Entwicklung einer Infrastruktur für ein »Virtuelles Münzkabinett«- Länder und Sammlungstypen übergreifend. Die vier Säulen der zu entwickelnden webbasierten und bebilderten Datenbank sind Erfassungsmodule für Münzen, Medaillen, Papiergeld und Fundmünzen. Es kooperieren verschiedene Partner aus Schleswig-Holstein, Niedersachsen, Thüringen und Sachsen-Anhalt, die Testdaten für unterschiedliche fachliche Schwerpunkte aus Antike, Mittelalter, Neuzeit, Medaillenkunde, Papiergeldgeschichte und Fundnumismatik eingeben bzw. aufbereiten: das Universitätsmünzkabinett Göttingen im Archäologischen Institut, das Fundmünzenarchiv der Thüringischen Landesarchäologie in Weimar, das ehemalige Königliche Münzkabinett im Landesmuseum Hannover, das Landesmünzkabinett Sachsen-Anhalt der Stiftung Moritzburg in Halle/Saale und die Papiergeldsammlung der Schleswig-Holsteinischen Landesbibliothek in Kiel. Eingebracht werden verschiedene Vorerfahrungen der Kooperationspartner u. a. des Münzkabinetts in Hannover, der Gitta-Kastner-Stiftung in der Numismatischen Kommission der Länder in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, des Fundkatalogs der Numismatischen Kommission und der Verbundzentrale des Göttinger Bibliotheksverbundes mit der Vernetzung von Bibliotheken und anderer Kultureinrichtungen (z.B. Portal Kulturerbe Niedersachsen). Weiterer Partner bei der Entwicklung ist die Programmfabrik Berlin mit einer Applikation der Software easydb.

Ziel des DFG- Projektes KENOM ist es, die digitale Präsenz wissenschaftlich aufbereiteter Münzbestände deutlich zu erhöhen und dauerhaft durch die Bereitstellung entsprechender Werkzeuge die Erschließung zahlreicher weiterer Bestände zu ermöglichen. Durch die großräumige länderübergreifende Vernetzung von Sammlungen in Schleswig-Holstein, Niedersachsen und Thüringen sowie durch die Integration verschiedener Sammlungstypen soll ein breites Spektrum der Nachnutzbarkeit gewährleistet werden. Im Projekt soll eine Infrastruktur entwickelt und ein durchgängiger Arbeitsablauf definiert werden, der es auch kleinen Institutionen ohne ausgebildeten Numismatiker mit vertretbarem Aufwand ermöglicht, online Bestandinformationen über die neu zu entwickelnde Plattform anzubieten. Das Projekt soll nach Abschluss einen komfortablen Zugang über ein ‚Virtuelles Münzkabinett‘ zu den bisher nur ausgewählten Spezialisten offen stehenden Magazinbeständen erlauben. Unabhängig davon wird ein Beitrag zur Digitalisierung großer Mengen von Material geleistet werden, um die Präsenz der deutschen Sammlungen sowohl national – unter anderem in der kommenden Deutschen Digitalen Bibliothek – und international – in der Europeana – zu erhöhen. (Gemeinsamer Bibliotheksverbund)