Globe

Saxones

a new story of the old saxony

5.4. a 18.8.2019

Lower Saxony today has around eight million people. They have their roots everywhere in Europe and in the world. Many families have been settled here for centuries, some perhaps since the early Middle Ages. At that time almost all inhabitants of the country were called "Saxones". Are today's Lower Saxony descendants of these "old Saxons"? Where does the name "Sachsen" come from and who were they?

In co-operation, the Braunschweigische Landesmuseum and the Landesmuseum Hannover 2019 present a new history for Lower Saxony in a large joint exhibition. The exhibition traces the myth about the "old Saxons".

Facts and opinions

who are the old saxons?

Archaeologists and historians have the history of the 1. to 10. Century n. Chr. In today's Lower Saxony, but also in Westphalia fundamentally revised. The well-known story of the conquest of these areas by the Germanic tribe of the "old Saxons", but also the supposedly practiced early democracy were critically questioned. The myth turned out not only as romantically transfigured, but also as politically wanted - and was already used in the early Middle Ages to justify claims to power. Explore the myth of Saxony with us: we sort the facts and opinions!

time testify

far and strange

Many high-level credentials from across the 1. Millennium from German and international collections are brought together here for the first time. The exhibition presents 160 partly extensive ensembles of archaeological finds and around 60 prominent individual objects: fine jewelry and weapons from graves, unique manuscripts and royal documents. They are the last witnesses of a distant epoch. Whether valuable treasure trove, magnificent grave goods or banal everyday object: These contemporary witnesses give unexpectedly concrete insights into the life of an archaic society at the intersection of former European cultural areas. What they tell us is alien and close at the same time.

identity and myths

who is we"? and why?

Ancient myths and historical narratives create identity. Who belongs to it when we say "we?" Modern scientific findings offer surprising new perspectives on the emergence of identities and their transformation in the 1. Millennium AD According to the popular myth that the ancient Saxons are the ancestors of Lower Saxony, the exhibition juxtaposes modern historical knowledge about the emergence of the powerful Saxon identity of the early Middle Ages. The story of the Roman defeat in the Teutoburg Forest until the rise of Saxon nobles to kings of the East Frankish German Empire appears today in a new light. Discover the story behind the myth!

a game of throne

war and politics in the heart of europe

The Niedersächsische Landesausstellung tells the story between the Harz and the North Sea in the 1. New Millennium: It's a political story, a narrative of winners and losers. The rise and fall of the Roman Empire have also had their effect here. The members of the upper class are highly mobile and very networked. They themselves become impulses in European affairs. At the same time foreign kings compete for supremacy in the country, different cultures meet. The struggle for power, influence and prosperity in the regions is not guided by the means of diplomacy: violent clashes, political marriages or purchased loyalties are common instruments of politics. The decisions of powerful families set the course for the development of the whole country. "Game of Thrones" - on our doorstep.

winner write history

where do the saxons come from?

In Roman times, the name "Saxones" was a name for pirates and pirates. Only from the 7. In the 19th century AD, the inhabitants of Lower Saxony and Westphalia were called "Saxones", ie "Saxons". A dirty word? The Saxons did not want to recognize the rule of the Frankish king. Only Charlemagne could subdue her. But only a few generations later, a Saxon nobleman rose to the Frankish throne with Henry I. He was succeeded by his son Emperor Otto I, now the most powerful man in Europe. In the monastery of Corvey, the monk Widukind wrote the story of these proud men in the 10. Century - and thus founded the myth of Saxony. His story captivates to this day.

meet & greet

reference point human

Fascinating portraits and survival scenes allow you to share important moments and events in the lives of nine people living in Lower Saxony and Westphalia back then. The colorful images come from Kelvin Wilson, one of the most prominent archaeological illustrators in Europe. His works are the result of an intense artistic exploration of archaeological-historical research. His expressive illustrations meet their subject with respect: in eye contact with the historical individuals portrayed by him rather than reconstructed, the temporal distance between them and us is extinguished - an imagined past becomes for a moment a memorable present.

Building
Contact

Underground: Aegidientorplatz
Bus: Rathaus / Bleichenstraße lines 100 and 200
Rathaus / Friedrichswall line 120
Parking in the surrounding streets

Opening hours

Tuesday to Friday 10 - 17 clock
Saturday and Sunday 10 - 18 clock
closed on Mondays

entrance fees

10 € | reduced 8 € | Families 20 €
including collections

Globus

saxones

eine neue geschichte der alten sachsen

5.4. bis 18.8.2019

In Niedersachsen leben heute rund acht Millionen Menschen. Sie haben ihre Wurzeln überall in Europa und der Welt. Viele Familien sind seit Jahrhunderten hier ansässig, einige vielleicht schon seit dem frühen Mittelalter. Damals nannte man fast alle Bewohner des Landes »Saxones«. Sind heutige Niedersachsen auch Nachfahren dieser »alten Sachsen«? Woher kommt eigentlich der Name »Sachsen« und wer waren sie?

In Kooperation präsentieren das Braunschweigische Landesmuseum und das Landesmuseum Hannover 2019 in einer großen gemeinsamen Ausstellung eine neue Geschichte für Niedersachsen. Die Ausstellung spürt dem Mythos über die »alten Sachsen« nach.

fakten und meinungen

wer sind die alten sachsen?

Archäologen und Historiker haben die Geschichte des 1. bis 10. Jahrhunderts n. Chr. im heutigen Niedersachsen, aber auch in Westfalen grundlegend revidiert. Die bekannte Erzählung von der Eroberung dieser Gebiete durch den germanischen Stamm der »alten Sachsen«, aber auch die angeblich dort praktizierte frühe Demokratie wurden kritisch hinterfragt. Der Mythos entpuppte sich dabei nicht nur als romantisch verklärt, sondern auch als politisch gewollt – und wurde bereits im Frühen Mittelalter genutzt um Herrschaftsansprüche zu rechtfertigen. Durchleuchten Sie mit uns den Mythos Sachsen: Wir sortieren die Fakten und Meinungen!

 

zeitzeugen

fern und fremd

 

Viele hochrangige Zeugnisse aus dem ganzen 1. Jahrtausend aus deutschen und internationalen Sammlungen werden hier erstmals zusammengeführt. Die Ausstellung präsentiert über 160 teils umfangreiche Ensembles archäologischer Funde und rund 60 prominente Einzelobjekte: edler Schmuck und Waffen aus Gräbern, einzigartige Handschriften und königliche Urkunden. Sie sind die letzten Zeitzeugen einer fernen Epoche. Ob wertvoller Schatzfund, prächtige Grabbeigabe oder banaler Alltagsgegenstand: Diese Zeitzeugen geben unvermutet konkrete Einblicke in das Leben einer archaischen Gesellschaft im Schnittpunkt früherer europäischer Kulturräume. Was sie erzählen, ist uns fremd und nah zugleich.

identität und mythen

wer ist »wir«? und warum?

Alte Mythen und historische Erzählungen stiften Identität. Wer gehört dazu, wenn wir »Wir« sagen? Moderne wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse bieten überraschende neue Perspektiven zur Entstehung von Identitäten und ihrem Wandel im 1. Jahrtausend n. Chr. Dem beliebten Mythos, die alten Sachsen seien die Vorfahren der Niedersachsen stellt die Ausstellung das moderne historische Wissen über die Entstehung der wirkmächtigen sächsischen Identität des frühen Mittelalters gegenüber. Die Geschichte von der römischen Niederlage im Teutoburger Wald bis zum Aufstieg sächsischer Adliger zu Königen des ostfränkischen-deutschen Reiches erscheint heute in einem neuen Licht. Entdecken Sie die Geschichte hinter dem Mythos!

ein spiel um throne

krieg und politik im herzen europas

Die Niedersächsische Landesausstellung erzählt die Geschichte zwischen Harz und Nordsee im 1. Jahrtausend neu: Es ist eine politische Geschichte, eine Erzählung von Gewinnern und Verlierern. Der Aufstieg und Fall des Römischen Reiches haben auch hier ihre Wirkung entfaltet. Die Angehörigen der Oberschicht sind hochmobil und sehr weit vernetzt. Sie werden selbst zu Impulsgebern im europäischen Geschehen. Zugleich ringen fremde Könige um die Vorherrschaft im Land, verschiedene Kulturen treffen aufeinander. Das Ringen um Macht, Einfluss und Wohlstand in den Regionen wird nicht mit den Mitteln der Diplomatie geführt: Gewalttätige Auseinandersetzungen, politische Ehen oder erkaufte Loyalitäten sind übliche Instrumente der Politik. Die Entscheidungen mächtiger Familien stellen die Weichen für die Entwicklung des ganzen Landes. »Game of Thrones« – vor unserer Haustür.

gewinner schreiben geschichte

woher kommen die sachsen?

In römischer Zeit war der Name »Saxones« eine Bezeichnung für Piraten und Seeräuber. Erst ab dem 7. Jahrhundert n. Chr. werden im Reich der Franken auch die damaligen Bewohner von Niedersachsen und Westfalen »Saxones«, also »Sachsen« genannt. Ein Schimpfwort? Die »Sachsen« wollten die Herrschaft des Frankenkönigs nicht anerkennen. Erst Karl der Große konnte sie unterwerfen. Aber nur wenige Generationen später stieg mit Heinrich I. ein sächsischer Adliger auf den fränkischen Thron. Ihm folgte sein Sohn Kaiser Otto I., jetzt der mächtigste Mann Europas. Im Kloster Corvey schrieb der Mönch Widukind die Geschichte dieser stolzen Männer im 10. Jahrhundert auf – und begründet so den Mythos Sachsen. Seine Erzählung fesselt bis heute.

meet & greet

referenzpunkt mensch

Faszinierende Porträts und Szenen in Überlebensgröße lassen Sie an wichtigen Momenten und Ereignissen im Leben von neun Menschen teilhaben, die damals in Niedersachsen und Westfalen lebten. Die farbenprächtigen Bilder stammen aus der Hand von Kelvin Wilson, einem der profiliertesten archäologischen Illustratoren in Europa. Seine Werke sind das Ergebnis einer intensiven künstlerischen Auseinandersetzung mit der archäologisch-historischen Forschung. Seine ausdrucksstarken Illustrationen begegnen ihrem Gegenstand mit Respekt: Im Blickkontakt mit den von ihm vielmehr porträtierten als rekonstruierten historischen Individuen erlischt die zeitliche Distanz zwischen ihnen und uns – imaginierte Vergangenheit wird für einen Moment einprägsam erlebte Gegenwart.

Gebäude
Anfahrt

U-Bahn: Aegidientorplatz
Bus: Rathaus / Bleichenstraße Linien 100 und 200
Rathaus / Friedrichswall Linie 120
Parkmöglichkeiten in den umliegenden Straßen

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag bis Freitag 10 – 17 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag 10 – 18 Uhr
Montag geschlossen

Eintrittspreise

10 € | ermäßigt 8 € | Familien 20 €
inklusive Sammlungen