Globe

max slevogt

a retrospective to the 150. birthday

28.9.2018 24.2.2019 to

The Landesmuseum Hannover owns the world's most important collection of the »Triumvirate of German Impressionism«: Max Liebermann, Lovis Corinth and Max Slevogt. Slevogt was the youngest and most versatile artist in this trio, to whom the WeltenMuseum is dedicating a major exhibition for the first time. Today, almost exclusively as an open-air painter popular, nature was not Slevogts only inspiration: In graphics and painting, he also often thematized scenes from history, literature and music, which sprang from his imagination alone. On the occasion of the anniversary, the Landesmuseum Hannover presents 150 impressive works, representative of each year. Top-quality loans from national and international museums complement outstanding paintings, drawings and prints from their own collection. The elaborate retrospective draws a complete picture of one of the most important German artists of its time.

slevogts gutter art

Scandals in Munich

In Munich, the young Slevogt studied at the Academy, before settling there as a freelance artist and exhibited publicly from 1892. With works such as "After the Bath," a prime example of his crude-realistic painting, which was vilified as "gutter art," Slevogt earned the epithet "The Terrible." So he could not succeed in Munich. At the insistence of the Berlin Secession, especially Max Liebermann, Slevogt left Munich and moved to the Prussian capital, where his works were already very much appreciated in the 1890 years.

open-air painting

the breakthrough of impressionism

On the way to Berlin Slevogt spent several weeks in Frankfurt, where he held connections to the Städel Art Institute. At that time, he created his famous series »Frankfurt Zoo Pictures«, which highlighted the brightening of the color palette as well as the turn towards the depiction of leisure pleasures. It represents the breakthrough of Slevogt's open-air painting, which later also appears in the cycle of the "pictures of Egypt" and countless palatinate landscapes.

painting and graphics

With 150 works in the fields of printmaking and painting, the Landesmuseum Hannover draws a comprehensive picture of the artist Max Slevogt. The equality of graphics and painting is one of the central aspects of Slevog's own concept of art: "When I try to give greater meaning to the word illustration, I draw all the representations, painted or drawn, into this unity: art." With these words In his essay "Pro Domo," the artist has already contradicted 1924's view that book illustration does not belong to art. This is followed for the first time by a retrospective, which places the print-graphic work equally alongside the artist's painting.

program

Building
Contact

Underground: Aegidientorplatz
Bus: Rathaus / Bleichenstraße lines 100 and 200
Rathaus / Friedrichswall line 120
Parking in the surrounding streets

Opening hours

Tuesday to Friday 10 - 17 clock
Saturday and Sunday 10 - 18 clock
closed on Mondays

entrance fees

10 € | reduced 8 € | Families 20 €
including collections

Funded by

max slevogt

eine retrospektive zum 150. geburtstag

28.9.2018 bis 24.2.2019

Das Landesmuseum Hannover besitzt die weltweit bedeutendste Sammlung des »Dreigestirns des deutschen Impressionismus«: Max Liebermann, Lovis Corinth und Max Slevogt. Slevogt war der jüngste und vielseitigste Künstler dieses Trios, dem das WeltenMuseum erstmals eine große Ausstellung widmet. Heute fast ausschließlich als Freilichtmaler populär, war die Natur nicht Slevogts einzige Inspiration: In Grafik und Malerei thematisierte er auch vielfach Szenen aus Geschichte, Literatur und Musik, die allein seiner Phantasie entsprangen. Anlässlich des Jubiläums präsentiert das Landesmuseum Hannover 150 eindrucksvolle Werke, stellvertretend für jedes Jahr. Dabei ergänzen hochkarätige Leihgaben aus nationalen und internationalen Museen herausragende Gemälde, Zeichnungen und Drucke aus der eigenen Sammlung. Die werkreiche Retrospektive zeichnet ein vollständiges Bild eines der wichtigsten deutschen Künstler seiner Zeit.

slevogts rinnsteinkunst

skandale in münchen

In München studierte der junge Slevogt an der Akademie, bevor er sich dort als freier Künstler niederließ und ab 1892 öffentlich ausstellte. Mit Werken wie »Nach dem Bade«, einem Paradebeispiel seiner derb-realistischen Malerei, die als »Rinnsteinkunst« verunglimpft wurde, erwarb sich Slevogt den Beinamen »Der Schreckliche«. So konnte er in München nicht zu Erfolg gelangen. Auf Drängen der Berliner Sezession, insbesondere von Max Liebermann, verließ Slevogt München und siedelte in die preußische Hauptstadt über, wo seine Werke schon in den 1890er Jahren sehr geschätzt waren.

freilichtmalerei

der durchbruch des impressionismus

Auf dem Weg nach Berlin verbrachte Slevogt einige Wochen in Frankfurt, wo er Verbindungen zum Städelschen Kunstinstitut hielt. Damals entstand seine berühmte Reihe »Frankfurter Zoobilder«, welche die Aufhellung der Farbpalette sowie die Hinwendung zur Darstellung von Freizeitvergnügungen markiert. Sie bildet den Durchbruch von Slevogts Freilichtmalerei, der später auch im Zyklus der »Ägyptenbilder« und unzähligen Pfalzlandschaften in Erscheinung tritt.

malerei und grafik

Mit 150 Werken aus den Bereichen Druckgrafik und Gemälde zeichnet das Landesmuseum Hannover ein umfassendes Bild des Künstlers Max Slevogt. Die Gleichstellung von Grafik und Malerei ist einer der zentralen Aspekte in Slevogts eigenem Kunstbegriff: »Wenn ich hier dem Worte Illustration eine höhere Bedeutung zu geben versuche, ziehe ich alle Darstellungen, gemalt oder gezeichnet, zu dieser Einheit zusammen: Kunst.« Mit diesen Worten hat der Künstler in seinem Essay »Pro Domo«, also »In eigener Sache«, bereits 1924 der Ansicht widersprochen, die Buchillustration gehöre nicht zur Kunst. Dem folgt nun erstmalig eine Retrospektive, die das druckgrafische Werk gleichwertig neben die Malerei des Künstlers stellt.

Gebäude
Anfahrt

U-Bahn: Aegidientorplatz
Bus: Rathaus / Bleichenstraße Linien 100 und 200
Rathaus / Friedrichswall Linie 120
Parkmöglichkeiten in den umliegenden Straßen

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag bis Freitag 10 – 17 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag 10 – 18 Uhr
Montag geschlossen

Eintrittspreise

10 € | ermäßigt 8 € | Familien 20 €
inklusive Sammlungen

Gefördert durch